2009 Resolutions

I’ve never been much for New Year Resolutions. I know why they happen at the cusp of a new year, but it always seems so…..forced.

However, seeing as how I’ve bounded forward with an ambitious debt pay-off plan, I figured I might as well throw a couple additional goals into the pot.

Penny’s 2009 Goals

Exercise

Sleep More

Spend Less Time On The Internet

Start A Travel Fund With David

Simple enough, right?

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “2009 Resolutions”

  1. Solangel Says:

    My Goals:
    -Exercise (isn’t this everyones #1?)
    -Follow a healthy sleeping pattern- right now I sleep 4-5 hours for a few days, then 11 hours the next. My goal is a solid 6.5-8 hours a night.
    -Set up a realistic budget. And then stick to it.
    -Go to the doctor.
    -Go back to school in the fall
    -Move into a new apartment

    I will be happy if at least 2 of these come true.

  2. Sukie Says:

    Please don’t forget to add one thing that makes you happy. It makes doing the other things much more enjoyable. Because, you will be happy in general.

    so, with that, mine are as follows

    Once a week:
    eat a vegetarian meal
    eat fish
    run
    lift weights (actually the hardest resolution for me)
    add $ to savings (purposely no $amount, so I’m more willing and it stays constant)
    read
    do something you love.

    I hope, that posting it here also makes me stay accountable to it. It’s in writing after all?

    Good Luck, Penny. We’re all in this together :)

  3. tinaspins Says:

    Hi Penny! Glad you like $30/week! I definitely can relate to your Target GO post. As for starting a travel fund, this is something Phil and I did pretty easily. One of you opens up a separate account and just agree to each put in 20, 50 or 100 (whatever you can afford) a month. By the end of the year, there will be a tidy sum – traveling is awesome!

  4. Annie Says:

    Hi Penny!

    I really have enjoyed reading your blog. Just wanted to let you know that you have inspired me to start a budgeting program…I’m turning 30 in 2009 and I figure it’s about time I get my ass in gear when it comes to money.

    Good luck in the New Year and remember, there are a lot of us in the same boat! My Gramma made it through the Great Depression by never wasting anything and rarely had any money. She had a fulfilling and eventful life all the same. She and my Grampa even made beer in the bathtub to save on money! That they could survive and innovate while having a blast bodes well for all of us.

    Annie

Leave a Reply

