Preview: Dinner Party For Under 100 Bucks

Tomorrow we are having a dinner (for 8) and attempting to do it for under $100.  I know that might still seem extravagant, but 1) it’s not a super casual affair and 2) that budget includes alcohol.

I’ve been super excited about posting on this, as there have been many discussions floating around food sites regarding a recent NYT piece about throwing a dinner party for $250.  Because David and I are always having people over, this hits close to home.  I usually pay no attention to money, because I am too busy fixating on what I am going to make for our guests.

Yes, David likes to cook, he’s actually cooking for us right now, but he knows to leave me alone with my OCD when it comes to entertaining.

I’ve just landed on the menu, which I’ve shared below.

I can’t wait to share the results!

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Preview: Dinner Party For Under 100 Bucks”

  1. Britni Says:

    Can I be invited to this dinner party? The menu sounds heavenly. And that is quite an undertaking for under $100 and I will be insanely impressed if you manage to pull it off.

  2. tinaspins Says:

    Awesomeness! Definitely need to see some pictures when you pull it off.

  3. pennyplastic Says:

    I already have a guest/photographer lined up!

  4. Shelly Says:

    Will you be putting the recipes on Plastic Chef? I am drooling over the Golden Crusted Brussel Sprouts.

  5. pennyplastic Says:

    Hi Shelly! I am still hemming and hawing about keeping Plastic Chef. I am not sure if I have the time and, I am not a very good photographer. If I post anything else on Plastic Chef, I will certainly post about it here!

  6. pennyplastic Says:

    Also, I will make sure to provide you all with the recipes I used, although I usually modify them. The Golden Crusted Brussels Sprouts is a recipe from 100 Cookbooks, FYI :-)

  7. tastyeatsathome Says:

    Wow, under $100 and you’re serving Prime Rib? Let me know if you pull it off! It sounds heavenly!

  8. And surely ye’ll be your pint-stowp, and surely I’ll be mine! And we’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet, for auld lang syne; « Arial is not Helvetica; Says:

    […] else planning fun NYE dinners?  I know Diana and Penny […]

  9. Shelly Says:

    Just to let you know…I made the Brussel Sprouts last night and they were delicious. And thanks for the 101 Cookbooks shout out. That is a great site. I am really digging your blog!

Leave a Reply

