Daily Inspiration

What’s inspiring me today.

Vancouver, BC.

Image: Corbis

Never been to Vancouver?  Go.  It’s one of my favorite cities.  My aunt lives there with her partner, who’s responsible for a lot of the development happening in the downtown area.  I’ve seen every view imaginable from every tall building in the city.  I would live in Vancouver in a millisecond if I had the chance.  My only beef is the transportation infrastructure; it’s hard to get around by car in the outskirts.  But, the city is hosting the Winter Olympics in 2010 so they are investing a great deal in a new tram system.  The city is urban, but you can find nature anywhere (and, if you’re a skier, Whistler is close by).  Fish is abundant and delicious, as well as fresh produce.  It feels European but not overwhelmingly so (compared to, say, Montreal).  There are many, many cute boys.  There’s good shopping, and a decent arts and music scene.  Go!  Immediately!

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Daily Inspiration”

  1. laura Says:

    I would LOVE to go to Vancouver, if only I had the money! I need to hit up the Pacific Northwest also. I have family in Washington and Oregon, but have never been! Maybe I should start a travel savings account!

  2. pennyplastic Says:

    Definitely go for it, and if you can’t get as far north as WA or Canada (not sure where you live), Portland, OR is awesome.

  3. Kivrin Says:

    I visited Vancouver for the first time last summer, and I LOVED it. Such a gorgeous city — your description is perfect.

    I was also amused/pleased to see (or rather smell) quite a few people smoking weed on the streets; apparently the Vancouver cops are really lax about enforcing the marijuana laws.

  4. delicatetbone Says:

    Let’s say I had 4 days to be there — what would be your suggestions as to where to go and where to stay?

  5. pennyplastic Says:

    Definitely Robson St. for shopping (shops like Zara) and Yaletown (boutiques). Stanley Park and Granville Island, for sure. I always stay with family so I have absolutely no recommendations on hotels. I did stay in a hotel at one end of Robson St. once, which gives you access to a lot.

Leave a Reply

