Responsibility, I’m Doing It Wrong

I received an email early last week from Amazon stating “we have deposited $170 to your checking account.”  I thought, “great, money from selling my books, that will go straight to one of my cards.”  So, in my eager-beaver way, I logged onto Bank of America and made an online payment.

Bad idea.

The $170 didn’t arrive to my account until yesterday and by then I had overdrawn my account and was charged $33.  Now I have $6.50 in my account and last night I used my card to buy $10 worth of gas.  I scurried over to my ING account and transferred $50 (from our travel fund) into my account in the hope that it will clear before my gas debit does.  If not, I can expect another $33 charge.  AND, Lending Club is going to withdraw a small amount (under $1) from my bank account in the coming days to verify my account for a possible loan.  This would result in ANOTHER overdraft fee.

It’s kind of like watching a train wreck, isn’t it?

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Responsibility, I’m Doing It Wrong”

  1. Melissa (AthertonMerriweather) Says:

    I’m so sorry for you! I’m obsessive compulsive about my accounts, but I only became that way after having too many experiences like this. I hope everything clears and works out for you! Chin up young person!

  2. M Says:

    Have you tried calling B of A and explaining what’s going on? I’m sorry if this seems totally obvious but I’ve actually had pretty good luck pleading my case to customer service operators who appear to have the power to change/revoke/delete all sorts of charges. It could be worth a shot.

  3. pennyplastic Says:

    It is my plan to try this over the weekend. It’s good advice, one that other readers have been giving. I’m just so nervous about it….

  4. nenasadije Says:

    yeah. i went food shopping today and was met with “insufficient funds” at the register. i had just deposited my paycheck and forgot it was after the 2 p.m. cut off. my bad!

    i bank at a local bank and though BOA sucks, as i’ve already expressed on your blog, i kinda like the idea of a) their accounts that round up all purchases and put the change into savings and b) overdraft protection from that savings account. those types of accounts could help avoid those $33 charges.

  5. Becki Says:

    Do you have a local credit union you can join? Joining a credit union has saved me so much money since they don’t charge OD fees – no ATM fees – no checking fees. It has been awesome and really the cornerstone in putting my finances together. (I’m digging out of about $11,000 of debt. 5 from credit cards 6 from a lingering car loan.)

  6. bebehblog Says:

    I quit B of A when they started debiting everything, highest to lowest, before they bothered to credit any of my deposits. For example, my balance was $100. I’d deposit my 250 paycheck on a Friday, on Saturday I’d spend $20 on groceries, $20 on gas, $5 on lunch and pay my cell phone bill for $100. On Monday, my account would read: -$100 (balance $0), -$20 ($30 overdraft charge), -$20 ($33 overdraft), -$5 ($35 overdraft), DEPOSIT $250. So my new balance was $103 to get me through two weeks. Calling and asking nicely might help but if it happens again they get much less forgiving.

    Now I’m off to eat cereal for lunch, since I can’t afford to buy groceries.

  7. On Being Spoiled & Mothers « Says:

    […] « Responsibility, I’m Doing It Wrong […]

Leave a Reply

