Songs To Consider

I don’t like Beatles covers. At all. But I LOVE, love this cover of Dear Prudence by Alanis Morisette. She doesn’t try to fuck with it too much and it make it “hers.” She just sings it. I am not even a huge Morisette fan, but I enjoy her obvious respect and love of singing. I can tell she loves this song as much as I do.

I really want to name my first daughter Prudence. I have since I was a young little thing I first heard the White Album. Prudence reminded me of myself, a girl who needed to be talked into interacting with others. A girl who needed to know that she could have fun. A girl who needed to be told that she was beautiful. Not because she needed it, but because she was and it was important that she knew it.

I love Prudence. And, I enjoy this cover.

Tags:

5 Responses to “Songs To Consider”

  1. LBB Says:

    This is one of my favorite Beatles songs… thanks for sharing, I like what Alanis does (or, rather, doesn’t do) with it.

  2. Britni Says:

    I want to name my daughter Penny Lane :)

  3. Maeg Says:

    Alanis, how I love thee. This is awesome, you are correct ma’am.

    Also, another Beatles cover that was simply, faithfully redone was Sarah McLachlan’s version of Blackbird. It was on the “I Am Sam” Soundtrack.

  4. May Says:

    Wow, her voice (which usually annoys me) works really well with this song!

  5. dignan Says:

    fiona apple- across the universe. it is possible to do a good beatles cover, just very difficult.

Leave a Reply

