Jet Age – City Girls (& Boys)

Joanna Goddard recently blogged about favorite cities (noting Portland, which is why the post caught my eye), and I started thinking, “what are my favorite cities?”

Now, I haven’t been to every city on my wish-list.  Domestically this would be Chicago.  Internationally it’s Montreal and Berlin.  To narrow down my list, I thought about what makes a great city.  Is it the people?  The food?  The arts?  Proximity to the outdoors?  Love of a city can mean countless things to countless people.  See below for which cities made my Top Five List.

Photo: Veer

San Francisco

London

Portland

New York City

Edinburgh

What are yours?

Tags:

14 Responses to “Jet Age – City Girls (& Boys)”

  1. Britni Says:

    Boston and Chicago make mine, but I haven’t been to most of the cities on my wish list. NYC is great to visit, but I tend to feel a little overwhelmed there.

    On my list of places to visit are Minneapolis, Seattle, Portland, San Francisco, and London.

  2. John (aspex) Says:

    London London London

    Oh and I guess San Francisco, Moscow, New York (still not been yet), and um…

    I don’t think the other cities matter, but I know I need to see Paris.

    I love London for the people, the food, the ale, the weather, the transport, the architecture, and um, I just quite loved living there.

  3. J.D.Regent Says:

    Barcelona, Beirut, Los Angeles, Cape Town, Austin, and Varanasi

    but my list of wanna visits is much longer, and I tend to prefer small towns to big cities.

  4. Annie Says:

    New York City – no doubt!
    My hometown in Kansas City so it holds a special place in my heart too.

  5. Sukie Says:

    Settle is one of my favorite cities to visit.

    Give me the chance and I would race back to Galway, Ireland (or the Connemara Region, or the Aran Islands…)

    But Portland is definitely where I call Home. Nothing can beat my little city that can. :)

    (and I am honored that it appears on other lists as well, thanks!)

  6. Catherine Says:

    I’m currently living in Montreal for school and it is awesome. I’ve never regretted my decision to come here and I definitely think it’s worth visiting. Maybe not in the winter, though; at the moment we’re dealing with -30 degree weather (Celsius, that is).

  7. Laura (pinkybella) Says:

    1. London

    2. New York

    3. Edinburgh

    4. New Orleans

    5. Paris

  8. SarahMC Says:

    Scranton, duh. Seriously, though: Sydney, New York, Boston.
    I’m sure my list would change if I were able to visit more places!

  9. elizabeth Says:

    Philadelphia, New York, Turin, Boston, and Malaga. I’d love to go to Dublin (preferably during a Bloomsday), London and San New Orleans eventually, though.

  10. Annie K. Says:

    Rome (my favorite place in the entire world)

    New York

    Berlin

    Los Angeles

    Lugano, Switzerland

    Paris (I left high school 6 months early and moved to Paris. It is
    such a special place)

    There are very few cities I’ve been to that I didn’t like…even when I don’t love a place, I’m still pretty happy to be traveling. There are so so many places I want to see! Sydney, Croatia, Ireland – I would travel all the time if I could.

  11. Lindsay Says:

    Great question – I’m forever bummed about the fact that I can only live in one place at a time. Loving a city can be a bit like loving a person – you start off with an infatuation. As you get to know a place better, the attraction grows or fades. I am genuinely in love with San Francisco, New York and Seattle. I am in lust with Barcelona, Paris and London. Denver, Chicago and Philadelphia are old, comfortable (probably under-appreciated) friends. And then there are a series of celebrity crushes on those cities I’ve only been able to admire from afar: Rio de Janeiro, Capetown and Montreal.
    I’m not sure why I think of everything in multiples of three – perhaps it’s a product of Catholic youth spent blessing things in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.

  12. bebehblog Says:

    Charleston, SC. I would give just about anything to live there but will never be able to afford downtown real estate.

    Boston & Paris too.

  13. SerendipitousTrout Says:

    aww I’m late on this topic too. But I still want to contribute.
    I would move to London in a heart beat. I stayed there for 3 1/2 weeks and never wanted to come back to St. Louis. As for other cities I’m in love with: Chicago, Ann Arbor MI, Charleston SC and New Orleans (I lived there for 1 week before having to evacuate due to Katrina.
    I’ve been to Paris, but I can’t say I’d ever want to go back. It was amazing to see it though. As for places I want to go, oh wow dont’ get me started- practially everywhere!!

  14. Unpossible Says:

    Love, love, love SF. My home, my city. I’m also a big fan of New York, and I’m coming around to LA (3 years after moving away, funnily enough). I’ve only been to Paris once, and it poured the whole time, but I’m definitely interested in returning. I also like Long Beach a lot, I call it the Mary Popppins of Southern California (practically perfect in every way!).

    As for my wish list…well, if I had to narrow it down to 5, they would probably be:

    London
    Chicago
    Budapest
    Barcelona
    Tokyo

    But really, I’d be happy to go anywhere. I love exploring new places!

    p.s. – I came to your blog through Jezebel, and am enjoying it thoroughly. I’m currently unemployed (as of 2009), so I’m also trying to budget, and it’s interesting to see your methods/ideas.

Leave a Reply

