Daily Inspiration

What’s inspiring me today.

Emiliana Torrini.

I had never heard of Torrini when a Jezebel friend left me a note on Facebook telling me he thought I looked like her in some of my photos.  I looked her up on Google Images and thought, “okay, I suppose so….”

I then forgot about her, until she popped up on Pandora the other day (yes, I use Pandora a lot).  I liked the song so much I started a Torrini station, which has quickly become my favorite; a LOT of Theivery Corp. and Zero 7.

My first thought was that Torrini sounds a bit like Bjork, so I was not surprised to read that she’s from Iceland.  Her singing is more melodic, however, and her music less experimental.  They are, in a word, totally different.  But, I do recognize similarities in their singing voices.

For a start, here is one of my favorite songs of hers I’ve heard thus far.

You can check out her music on Last FM.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Daily Inspiration”

  1. Kivrin Says:

    I’ve listened to a few of Emiliana’s songs, and I should probably download some more. This is gonna sound really geeky, but the song she did for one of the “Lord of the Rings” movies was gorgeous!

  2. allisonwrote Says:

    If You Go Away and Heartbreaker are my favorites of hers. Especially the former.

    x
    allison

Leave a Reply

