The Big Window Challenge

THE BLOGGER’S OFFICE

DESIGNER: Maxwell Gillingham-Ryan, Apartment Therapy

DESIGNED FOR: A work from home blogger who happens to like his girlfriend’s stylish white studio better than his own messy loft.

INSPIRED BY: Light, white Scandinavian interiors, old wood floors and strong WiFi.

Apartment Therapy has joined with Bloomingdale’s to help promote the department store’s new line of furniture, Furniture on 5.  Three AT readers were chosen to create windows at Bloomingdale’s flagship store on Lexington Avenue in New York City.  Maxwell Gillingham-Ryan, an AT editor, also designed a window.  Each window is themed around a room and merchandised with Furniture on 5 product.

Although the AT editors and their chosen designers have been working on the windows since October, they were just installed this week, on the 20th.  Readers are encouraged to vote for their favorite, and will be entered into a sweepstakes to win the contents of one of the “window rooms.”

As a visual merchandiser, I love this intersection of interior design and merchandising in a retail environment.  Which room is your favorite?

ROOM 1 – BRIDGET’S BRIDGE

DESIGNER: Curtis Robertson

DESIGNED FOR: A newly single survivor with a new, leaner life.

INSPIRED BY: A Paint-By-Number picture, retrieved from childhood, that links her past to her future. Bridget paints her bridge, and makes her home finally all her own.

ROOM 2 – THE DOWNTOWN CHALET

DESIGNER: Jane Mount

DESIGNED FOR: A young Swiss expat living in NYC and working for an art dealer.

INSPIRED BY: The mountains, food, and design sense of Switzerland. A cozy, eclectic space to escape the stress of the city.

ROOM 3 – THE BACHELOR PARTY

DESIGNER: Patrick J. Hamilton

DESIGNED FOR: An uptown boy, worldly urbanist and man-about-town.

INSPIRED BY: The New York nightscape. A chic and dramatic space that’s always party-ready.

Honestly, I am digging Maxwell’s room the most.  But, as I can’t vote for him, I will have to go with number 2.  I love the peach-colored wall and the graphic pattern on the chair she chose.  I think number 3 is fabulous, but perhaps as a Russian vodka bar, not a room…..

Looks like this girl agrees with me:

All Photos: Apartment Therapy.

5 Responses to “The Big Window Challenge”

  1. Britni Says:

    I’m voting for number 3. I LOVE it.

  2. Claudia (Bluebears) Says:

    I’d choose 2 as well. I think the other rooms are really cool looking but a bit to in your face to wake up to and come home to every day.

  3. Carly Says:

    I’m with you on #2… and now I want a fireplace and a polar bear in MY room. To be honest, I doesn’t quite jibe with my Nantucket meets Fiji island aesthetic.

  4. pennyplastic Says:

    Remember when we were talking about opening a Russian vodka bar after falling in love with Revolution in London?

    Maybe someday, when one of us wins the lotto. Then we can hire designer number 3…..

  5. Sukie Says:

    I voted for 2 as well.

    …I thought I was the only one that grumbled when I couldn’t vote for the Blogger’s Office… :)

    Also, I just love Maxwell. Picked up his Apartment Therapy book two weeks ago and will start my 8 Week work in February. So Excited!

Leave a Reply

