Blast From The Past – Sleepovers

Photo: Veer

It started with that first sleepover, maybe at your best friend’s house.  My first time lasted a good 2 hours; my parents drove me to my best friend Amberly’s house for my first overnight stay and I was on the phone soon after: “I want to come hoooooommmmme.”

She was really mad at me.

Many times sleepover parties were in celebration of birthdays, but as we got older we did it more for the bonding experience.  Freezing our underwear, talking about boys, playing Truth or Dare….

The amount of kids at a sleepover seems to function as a bell-curve.  When you’re young (say, 6) it’s customarily just you and one or two friends.  From around 8 to your pre-teens, the group grows exponentially.  But from roughly 13 or so and older, it tends to be just you and one friend.  This is when sneaking out and drinking your first beer usually happens.

David and I listened to the CUTEST story this afternoon on Weekend America.  Jonathan Menjivar and Hillary Frank slept over with two groups (boys and girls) two years ago and detailed the “inner workings” of their nights.  You must listen!  It will take you back.

And, David…..Lord, he couldn’t help himself.  He had to join in as the girls sang “Sk8r Boi.”  It seems that I am still having sleepovers.  Every night.  At 29.

4 Responses to “Blast From The Past – Sleepovers”

  1. Britni Says:

    Avril Lavigne is a HUGE guilty pleasure for me. All of her songs sound exactly the same and I DON’T CARE.

  2. John (aspex) Says:

    I was hoping that was a joke. (the lavigne bit) I mean, is Bowie really that hard to pronounce?

  3. pennyplastic Says:

    John….dude, I hear you. I love the man but he has awful taste in music (that said, he loves all of my music – especially Ladytron!). He still has his bootleg copy of Lavigne’s album (that he bought in Romania) but I refuse – REFUSE to listen to it. Ever.

    But, I have my guilty pleasures too. Like Kylie Minogue.

  4. elizabeth Says:

    Hee! We had a sleepover this weekend as we’re having celing problems in our bedroom (three hours before our weekend guests arrived I noticed that our bedroom light was tilted and pouring water right next to our bed) and it was a grown-up sleepover: we made raviolis (from scratch!), played drunk Sorry, Scrabble and Guitar Hero, and drank delicious wine.

    Aside from the ceiling issues, it was a good weekend. And FWIW, Kylie Minogue is awesome and so not a guilty pleasure. Even better, a friend of ours told us that he doesn’t believe in guilty pleasures–no one should make you apologize for what you like. It’s a freeing philosophy, and one I highly endorse–especially because I still watch Grey’s Anatomy.

Leave a Reply

