Macy’s Cutting 7,000 Jobs

Not a good time to be working for a retailer.

Keep your fingers and toes crossed for me.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Macy’s Cutting 7,000 Jobs”

  1. lizbang Says:

    This is so scary. I work in retail also and learned last week that my company is suspending it’s employer match 401k program and not contributing to pensions for the next 2 years. Also, no one in the entire company is getting a raise, but I still have a job! And in this climate I thank my lucky stars for this. Happy fiscal new year, indeed.

  2. Claudia (Bluebears) Says:

    I’ll cross my toes. Its bad all around. My BF is an automotive engineer, his company has already had two huge waves of layoffs. He’s happy he still has a job but the people who are left are just so overworked, they’re doing like 3 other peoples jobs.

  3. Sukie Says:

    I was laid off last Friday. We knew a wave of layoffs were coming, none of my coworkers thought that I would be the one to go. Now, my boss’s workload has doubled.

    Just, please, be ready.

    It’s like a plague.

  4. John (aspex) Says:

    http://www.xkcd.com/308/

  5. Melissa (Athertonmerriweather) Says:

    The economy just keeps getting worse. I’ve given myself an ulcer over losing my job. Sadly, I think this is the first time I’ve given my job 100% effort. I mean I’ve been showing up on time, chipper as can be, completing all tasks WAY before deadline, not spending as much time on the internet, etc…in the grand scheme of things, none of this will save my job, but I can still have hope right?

  6. pennyplastic Says:

    Oh, Sukie, I am so sorry to hear that……

  7. Dawnyelle Says:

    It is truly devastating. I used to complain about my job when we were crazy busy and staying late, but I told myself to just be happy with having a job. I am single woman and I don’t have the safety net of a spouse or a savings account. I think this is a real wake up call to young people especially. Far too many of us live WAY beyond our means. New clothes, cocktails and trips… I have been WAY more conservative with my money and im constantly thinking of alternative ways to make money and have fun on the cheap!

Leave a Reply

