Plastic Recommendation – Virigin America

Photo: Virgin America

I’m kind of a Virgin geek. I flew with them on my first (and only) trip to Europe in college, a direct flight from San Francisco to London. It was a great experience, especially considering that at that age I was very terrified of flying and staring at the nose of a 747 through the terminal window for an hour before take off nearly made me pee my pants.

Luckily, I had been upgraded. Apparently I had somehow charmed the airline guy when I ran over his foot with my, as he called it, “500-pound suitcase.” He bumped me to business class, putting me in a window seat on the second floor of the plane directly behind first class. Posh, for me.

Last year Virgin finally expanded into the states with Virgin America, thankfully setting up their hub in San Francisco. I believe the first flights offered were to Las Vegas, NYC, San Diego, DC and LA. They’ve since expanded to Seattle, Boston, Orange County. When they launched I immediately signed up for an airline membership (even though I don’t fly that often) and have flown with them twice.

It’s been a great experience, they remind me of Jetblue back when they first started, only better. The flight attendants weren’t anything special, but the planes are new, you get your own TV and, most importantly, it’s still relatively cheap to fly with them. I flew to NYC a few months ago and paid just over $300 for a direct flight.

If you find yourself flying between any of the above cities, I highly recommend you give them a try.

4 Responses to “Plastic Recommendation – Virigin America”

  1. SerendipitousTrout Says:

    I love Virgin airlines too. I also flew with them on my only trip to Europe- direct from Chicago to London. It was a great experience, especially since I was also scared to fly across soo much water.
    Also, when I was returning home I went to the airport with friends I had met. Two of us flew Virgin, the other two didn’t. They had to wait in line for 45 to check in/check bags- we were done in 15 minutes! I was so thankful for their check-in kiosks.

  2. myphotoscout Says:

    Are those the same as Virgin Atlantic? I had a Scott as captain. I always had to smile during the announcements. Way to get bumped up by rolling over people. I never tried that tactic. Maybe I should ;)

  3. Solangel Says:

    I am so glad to hear this! I just bought my ticket to Coachella and I was looking at flights out of NYC. Virgin America has been my #1 choice since i can get a round trip flight for $270 if I fly into LAX. Let’s see if I will as lucky with getting an upgrade, you know, without inflicting any pain.

  4. Claudia (Bluebears) Says:

    Ha! I got bumped one time to the first row behind first class and I also felt totally rich and luxurious. I told everyone. they were like “…?”

Leave a Reply

