Update

I will likely be quiet again today.  I just had a meeting and found out that my company is pushing through 5% pay cuts, effective immediately.  I will be spending the bulk of the day buckled down working (and reevaluating my budget).

9 Responses to “Update”

  1. Laura (pinkyBella) Says:

    Oh no! Wishing you the best!

  2. Dione (TakeADeepBreat) Says:

    Oh no! Is this definitely going to affect you? Good Luck.

  3. pennyplastic Says:

    Yes it will impact everyone from the executive team down.

  4. Melissa (Athertonmerriweather) Says:

    I’m so sorry! Are you considering searching for another job? I wish you the best.

  5. John (aspex) Says:

    And here I thought the Pursuit of Harpyness having technical difficulties was bad news.

  6. Sukie Says:

    Oh, please, please, please, I hope you do not go through what I did. I would not wish that on anyone. I really hope that you can get through the cuts and still stay there.

    Have they thought about cutting 4 hrs out of the work week? Maybe 6? Trust, that would be a better option than what my company did. :(

  7. pennyplastic Says:

    How are things, Sukie? Have you started looking for something else? If I can do ANYTHING at all please email me. I was actually thinking that I should start up a LinkedIn group or something.

    I will write more on this later, but the fact that they are taking this step shows that they are trying to avoid eliminations. If necessary, I would go take a few days off unpaid as well. We’ll see…..

  8. Claudia (Bluebears) Says:

    aw man. that sucks. hopefully, like you said, this will save them from making any layoffs. keep your chin up.

  9. elizabeth Says:

    Hang in there! It is a good sign that you’re with a company that’s willing to try any means necessary to avoid actual layoffs.

Leave a Reply

