Four Sisters, Four Weddings, One Year

Photo: MSN

Forgive Jeff and Cheryl Whitaker if they don’t want to go near a piece of wedding cake by the end of 2009. In an amazing bit of happenstance, the couple are marrying off all four of their daughters in one calendar year.

MSN

Sorry, that’s as far as I got.

Are you kidding me?

Tags: ,

13 Responses to “Four Sisters, Four Weddings, One Year”

  1. Casey Says:

    Oh dude. I was home yesterday with the flu and saw these fools on The Today Show. As if I wasn’t already nauseated enough from the flu I had to listen to them jabber about four totally cliche, overblown weddings and “Gosh, you have to pay for all four of your daughters’ weddings in one year, that must be tough.” Um, how about they are adults, why don’t they wait to get married until they can pay for their own weddings? Or elope? Or at least have one daughter cool enough to perpetually live in sin (um, it’s working for me)?

    Sorry, it’s been a day and I’m still annoyed. Thank you for posting it with a sarcastic comment and making me feel better. :-)

    -another random girl who followed you here from Jez

  2. Britni Says:

    Um, holy filing for bankruptcy in 2010. Honestly? I think it’s a little selfish of the daughters.

  3. Carly Says:

    What is this, 7 Brides for 7 Brothers? What is wrong with the media?

  4. Kivrin Says:

    One word: Elope.

    Also, WHY is this in the news? Jesus.

  5. elizabeth Says:

    I could barely get past the picture–then again, I HATE those “show off the ring!” Facebook-style pictures.

  6. Jess Says:

    Elizabeth- I couldn’t get past the photo either. Once someone starts focusing on the material aspect of weddings and marriage (ie showing off the ring) then I stop listening

  7. Laura (pinkyBella) Says:

    I agree with all of you. This is just yucky.

  8. Dawnyelle Says:

    I was HIGHLY annoyed as well. I mean really? They all look like fools, and I agree, when you focus on the material aspects of a wedding instead of having a healthy marriage YOU DOOMED!

  9. Kate Says:

    Wow, nice use of “marrying off,” MSN. It’s like the parents had a fire sale at the end of 2008…? “Every girl needs to go!!!”

  10. pennyplastic Says:

    Kate, that’s what got me too, and it’s when I stopped reading.

  11. thingsiadore Says:

    Yes but how many cows and oxen are the Whitaker’s getting for each daughter? That should balance out the cost of the four weddings, no?

  12. Lindsay Says:

    Ugh, vomit. I watched the whole thing and “marrying off” was really the tip of the iceberg. Questions like “how will you pay for all of this?” were addressed to the father, while questions like “will you wear a different dress for each wedding?” were addressed to the mother. It was just…. ew.

  13. Lindsay Says:

    And thingsiadore, I think you have it wrong. The Whitakers will have to GIVE oxen to the young men’s families as part of the dowry, along with gold ingots and tracts of land and the like. I hope their trousseaux are already taken care of!

Leave a Reply

