Plastic Recommendation – Bottle Shock

Okay, so I realize I may be biased here….I grew up in Northern California, I attended UCD (which has a brilliant viticulture program) and I LOVE wine.  But, this movie is rad.  Beautiful landscapes, good subject, awesome 70’s southern rock music.

I took my dad to see it last Father’s Day and we totally fell in love.  It’s like Phenomenon (also set in Sonoma); he and I spent so much time driving through that area when I was a kid – Navarro, Healdsburg, Calistoga, Napa, Sonoma……it just takes me back!

See it.  Trust.

Also, I am thinking of doing a post on throwing a wine tasting party for newbies on a budget, thoughts?

Tags: , ,

10 Responses to “Plastic Recommendation – Bottle Shock”

  1. Jess Says:

    I think it would be fun if everyone brought a bottle of wine- either their favorite or something new-to the party and then everyone can try something new. You could even set a price point for the bottle.

  2. Jess Says:

    baahhh I accidentally hit enter before I finished.

    Just make little appetizers for everyone and of course have the requisite cheese, grapes etc

  3. Kookycat Says:

    My favorite “wine-tasting” ever involved 3 bottles of port. A friend of my husband’s (a professor, self proclaimed Port Afficionado and resident expert on many, many subjects) made this big deal about bringing a $60 Tawny Port to the mountains for our ski trip. We also brought 2 other ports: a bottle we’d tasted & liked from a local wine bar (but was only $17) AND bottle of port that my husband’s mom brought back from her trip to India, raving about how “it only costs $2 and all the ladies loved it!” (Visual: This port comes in a plastic bottle inside of a plastic mesh bag).

    After a horrible 8 hour drive through a winter storm, and a snowmobile trip lugging all our stuff up to the cabin at 9,500 feet we decided to have a competitive port-tasting. The Port Afficionado, and another friend (also a prof, but a little more humble) were the contestants. My husband, the girlfriend of the Afficionado and I blindfolded, poured tastes and kept track of the results. And low and behold, the Afficionado ranked the Indian cough syrup port FIRST! The best part was, the Afficionado didn’t even laugh about it, he demanded a re-taste! Needless to say we were merciless.

    I suppose this idea would only work for parties with an insufferable Afficionado attending.

  4. pennyplastic Says:

    I would give ANYTHING for a port aficionado as I am trying unload, like, 6 bottles of Bonny Doon dessert wines we got when we were part of their wine club. I HATE sweet wine! But, they are good quality so I don’t want to give them to use anyone.

    Confession: You were talking about your “husband,” and I didn’t know who you were at first because I am still not used to you referring to W as your hubby!!!

  5. SerendipitousTrout Says:

    I’d love to see a post on about a wine tasting- I love it, but don’t know much about it so some recommendations would be awesome!

  6. Laura (pinkyBella) Says:

    I love wine. I would totally be down for some wine posts.

  7. Shelly Says:

    I would love some posts on wine or having a wine tasting party. I have gotten a lot of wine suggestions just reading the comments on Jezebel.

  8. Carly Says:

    Saw this accidentally on my flight from Cali at xmas and loved it. And I think Phenomenon was filmed in Auburn, CA (well, at least the “town” parts of it were). We drove up and watched John Travolta from afar when I was in high school.

  9. pennyplastic Says:

    Yes it was filmed in both locations.

  10. thingsiadore Says:

    I saw this on a plane and really enjoyed it. It’s a little goofy and definitely not what I thought it would be when I first saw the trailer, but it was really funny and really made my mouth water for some tasty wine. And you are absolutely right, the locations were truly beautiful and great to watch. Solid recommendation Penny!

Leave a Reply

