Who Do People Say You Look Like?

I got to thinking about this when I saw the crazy look-alike Keira hair.  I don’t think I would have ever asked this question if it had not been for three words.  Tiffany Amber Thiessen.

Let me just start by saying that I, personally, think I look nothing like her.  In fact, I have a friend, Heather, who looks FAR more like her than I.  I got the TAT comparison A LOT when I was younger.

At 13, a group of boys stopped me in a grocery store, giggling, asking if I was “Kelly.”  Seriously.  They wanted my autograph.  And it didn’t stop there.

Freshman year of college, people in my dorm called me “Valerie.”

My dad, however, has always likened me to Sandra Bullock.  I think because he’s knows I am loveably goofy.

In college, I went through a long period of people saying I looked like Nicki Hilton.  No, seriously.

In response to my totally confused expression, I usually got an “oh, well it’s probably because she dyed her hair and you’re thin.”

These days, I get a lot of Angela Lindvall.

What about you?

I’ve always found this interesting, as I WANT to be thought of as attractive and it’s cool to have people say you look like someone you believe to be cute.  But, seeing as how none of these four women look alike, and I don’t think I look like any of them…….

I will continue to try and not be flattered.

21 Responses to “Who Do People Say You Look Like?”

  1. Jess Says:

    I usually get Alexis Bledel which I don’t mind. She is pretty. Its basically the whole fair complexion, blue eyes and brown hair thing. Speaking of which I also get Zooey Deschanel. Our hair cuts and coloring are basically the same so go figure.

    The worst I have ever gotten was this guy who told me that I look like one of the twins from America’s Next Top Model. I asked him if I would look like both since they were twins? Either way I was not happy with that comparison. I one time was told I looked like Leelee Sobieski.

    By far the most random look alike I have ever gotten was from a substitute teacher in high school who told me I looked like Meryl Streep. I wasn’t too happy being compared to a 50-something woman when I was 17

  2. Melissa (Athertonmerriweather) Says:

    I’ve been told I look like Ashley Judd and Natalie Portman. I’ll take that!

  3. j.d.regent Says:

    Jesus I get different people every day. The most common is Jamie Lee Curtis. My father, and I tend to agree with him, thinks I look like Franka Potente, the German actress from Run Lola Run. Also get Sandra Bullock, Bridget Fonda, Mandy Moore (ok that one might be wishful thinking), Hillary Swank and one cherished moment at age 12 in the dentists office when the hygienist said Claudia Schiffer (this was pre braces. It’s never happened since). Your basic girl next door. Peasant features, my mother always says.

  4. Susan Says:

    you get valerie, i get kelly (from 90210). i hear Jennie Garth all the time- from people i’ve known forever who will just all of a sudden tell me they’ve always thought i looked like her to strangers on the subway. i don’t really think i look much like her- short and blonde, and that’s about it but she’s cute so i’ll take it!

  5. elizabeth Says:

    When I was younger it was Denise Richards–now it’s Anne Hathaway. Works for me.

  6. katieb (in charge of the war on the poor) Says:

    Someone once told me I reminded them of Joey Lauren Adams, which I don’t see at all (also her voice grates) I like to think that I look like Drew Barrymore, but that might just be in my head.

  7. Dione (TakeADeepBreath) Says:

    I have big round eyes, so I get Diana Ross a lot. When I pull my hair back with a headband, I get Nicole Richie.

    I dont see either one.

  8. Kivrin Says:

    Sarah Michelle Gellar — which makes me happy, because I love her. I heard it a lot back when BTVS when on the air. Hell, this older guy at work still calls me “Buffy.”

  9. Claudia (Bluebears) Says:

    When Lost in Translation came out everyone was saying I looked like Scarlett Johannsen. I have darker hair though. I’ve also gotten that actress who played faith in Buffy the Vampire Slayer and was in Bring it On? I forget her name. I used to get Anne Hathaway in her Princess Diaries days, before she got all uber-chic. I am a slouch most of the time.

  10. Bibomaco Says:

    I used to get Celine Dion when I was a teen, (a young version of Celine Dion). My grandma used to get offended when people would tell me that. I didn’t much care.

  11. aspiringexpatriate Says:

    I’ve gotten Oliver Martinez a couple of times. As if my ego needed to be any bigger.

  12. bebehblog Says:

    I used to get TAT too and I was called “Sandra” for a whole summer because someone decided I looked like Sandra Bullock. I never saw that one.

    It’s weird you get the same people because I REALLY doubt you and I look anything alike.

    Most of the time I get Kirsten Dunst. I’m not always sure how to feel about that. I can definitely see the similarities, especially when I was thinner, but a lot of people hate her so it may not be a compliment.

    Claudia – Do you mean Eliza Dushku? I hope you never run into my ex, he was obsessed with her.

  13. SarahMC Says:

    Penny, I don’t think you look like any of those people, nor do I think YOU look like Kirsten Dunst, Bebehblog. That’s so weird.
    J.D. I can kind of see the resemblance b/t you and Jaime Lee Curtis. Sort of.
    It’s hard to look like a famous person when 99% of famous people are gorgeous. But for a little while I looked slightly like Kate Hudson, only fatter.

  14. May Says:

    The only one I ever get is Tina Fey. Paha.

  15. Claudia (Bluebears) Says:

    @bebeh: yes! also I just saw she has some new show out. Thanks for the heads up about your ex but I really don’t think I look that much like her. :)

  16. thingsiadore Says:

    Should I be offended or flattered that no one has ever likened me to a celebrity, beautiful or otherwise? My initial inclination is to feel offended, but I’m not sure why.

  17. pennyplastic Says:

    No, it probably has more to do with your circle than anything. Anyhow, it’s rare that anyone actually LOOKS like the celebrities they are compared too (see Sarah’s comment, she knows what I look like).

  18. Solangel Says:

    @ thingsiadore: me either, but I don’t take offense to it. Although I liken myself to Ugly Betty (not America Ferrera) because I’m hispanic, short, wear a sz 10, have frizzy hair and I also wear red glasses. All I need are the bangs and the wardrobe.

  19. thingsiadore Says:

    You’re probably right. I do have one friend that is always pointing out what kind of animal a person looks like–apparently 85% of the world’s population looks like squirrels. Who knew?! I guess I’ll count my blessings. No one’s ever told me I look like Angelina Jolie, but then again, no one’s ever told me I look like Jocelyn Wildenstein. So win win win, I guess. :)

  20. Carly Says:

    The deejay at my karaoke bar calls me Belinda partly because he can’t remember my actual name and partly because he thinks I look like Belinda Carlisle. I seriously hope he means during the 80s, cause she seems to have had a ridiculous amount of plastic surgery lately… When I was a teen I got Brooke Shields, but I think it was just the eyebrows.

  21. funnyface Says:

    When I was in high school, I was called “Ally McBeal.” I hated it. Now I don’t really get told I look like anyone, but everyone always says I remind them of someone they know.

Leave a Reply

