What’s On The Menu For Valentine’s Day Dinner?

David is cooking me dinner for Valentine’s Day tomorrow, and I have only just started to think about what I might want. I am intrigued with the recipe for “Best Tomato Soup” I found at Lottie + Doof, it sound delicious! With some crusty bread and a bottle of wine, it would make for a simple and satisfying meal.

Photo: Lottie + Doof

What about you? Are you cooking at home for yourself or your partner, hitting a party or going out for a favorite dish?

11 Responses to “What’s On The Menu For Valentine’s Day Dinner?”

  1. Stella Says:

    I was just deciding what to make for dinner tonight since it is my turn. Tomato soup would be delicious!

  2. Jess Says:

    I’ll be cooking for myself. Since it has been super cold and rainy (we had sleet today! I have never seen that here before. Plus snow in the mountains) I have been craving fasolada which a traditional Greek bean soup that is served with feta cheese and crusty bread. I had some at the Sawdust festival over the summer and it was delicious

  3. pennyplastic Says:

    Jess, that sounds so good, can you link me to a recipe?

  4. Jess Says:

    I haven’t used this recipe yet but it seems pretty basic for the soup.
    Fasolada Recipe

    I personally enjoy the feta cheese in my soup instead of on the side

  5. Unpossible Says:

    Yum, soup! It’s definitely soup weather here in SF. Sadly, my boyfriend would never be satisfied with just soup for dinner. He’s also very under-confident about his own cooking skills, but I’ve been pushing him a bit. Last time he cooked, he made me polenta with Toulouse sausages and kale, and it was delicious!

    We cooked for V-Day last year (tropical braised short ribs and mashed potatoes), but this year we’re going to an underground restaurant for an all wild/foraged foods dinner featuring wild boar, which I’m really excited about!

    p.s. – Is David naturally inclined to cook, or does he need encouragement? I’m trying to gently prod some more, but my guy always feels like he should defer to me in the kitchen, since I’m more comfortable with cooking.

  6. Britni Says:

    Mmmm, soup (I really will say that every time you post a picture of soup)!

    Sunday I have a date at a guy’s house and he will be cooking for me. As for Valentine’s Day, I’m going to a fetish party! I love fetish parties and it gives me an excuse to wear really slutty clothing and go out in public :)

  7. Kivrin Says:

    The boy and I are cooking, but it won’t be anything fancy: just farfalle with veggies and alfredo sauce, plus some nice flatbread on the side. We’re not fans of the V-Day crowds, so we’re picking a random night next week to use a gift certificate at a nice restaurant.

  8. funnyface Says:

    That soup looks great!

    We have no plans except for dinner at our favorite restaurant which is within walking distance of our house. They’re usually sort of soul food with a slow food/organic twist. They’re doing one of their semi-regular tasting dinners for Valentine’s, and this is the menu: http://www.ilovetheglassonion.com/Tastingdinner.html

    I’m excited!

  9. Claudia (Bluebears) Says:

    I’m going out, but I talked to my brother last night and he’s cooking chicken pot pies for him and his girlfriend.

  10. elizabeth Says:

    We’re going to a party tonight so we’re going to order in some sandwiches from a local Jewish deli–I’m craving some lox and matzoh ball soup, and the husband wants some good roast beef.

    We’re making dinner tomorrow, though–rosemary chicken thighs (a family secret recipe) with prosciutto and toasted pasta. Awesome comfort food.

  11. nenasadije Says:

    i already made breakfast – scrambled eggs with cheese and herbs, cuban bread hearts two ways (toasted with butter and french toast).

    getting ready to fire up the grill for dinner. steak with red wine sauce, grilled sweet potatoes and celery root puree.

Leave a Reply

