Chicken “Strips” Without The Grease

If you’re anything like me, you have found yourself drunk at a Hard Rock Cafe (TGI Fridays, Applebees, the list goes on and on) sitting in front of a basket of fried chicken strips.

I LOVE chicken strips.  It’s probably one of the most unsophisticated dishes I enjoy, but I don’t care, they are delicious.

However, I don’t fry anything at home (with the exception of crab cakes and falafel), and I certainly don’t own a deep frier.  Years ago I saw a small feature in a fitness magazine about baked chicken strips, and I tried it out.  I have since developed my own recipe that I think is delicious, and far more healthy than the fried version.  These strips are easy and perfect for a simple dinner (pair with a starch and a vegetable) or topped on a salad.

Here is what you’ll need.  Keep in mind that I kind of wing my recipe and adapt given what I have in the kitchen, so go with what works for the batter and breading.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons spicy mustard (or any preferred mustard)
  • 1 dash white wine
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • 2 cups panko or plain bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup chopped almonds
  • Salt and pepper
  • Cayenne pepper

Whisk the eggs, mustard, wine and oil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Mix the panko/bread crumbs with the chopped almonds.  Add a dash of cayenne pepper and season with salt and pepper.

Note: I throw it just about anything to the breading mix.  My preferred mix is half panko and bread crumbs, chopped almonds, some almond meal, fresh parsley, S&P and cayenne pepper.  In the photos shown, I used panko, bread crumbs, cayenne, dried polenta, dried herbs, salt and pepper.

There’s a lot of flexibility – use oats if you like, or omit the mustard if you’re not a fan.  Play with it.

Butterfly the chicken breasts and cut into strips.  Dip in the egg mixture and then into the bread mixture.  Place on a well-oiled pan.  Before putting into the oven, spray the tops of the chicken strips with olive oil.

The chicken should take around 15-20 minutes to cook.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Chicken “Strips” Without The Grease”

  1. Jess Says:

    I love chicken strips! Sometimes I get random looks from people for ordering it. So what if Im in my 20s and still love eating kids food. These look great. I have been wanting to try panko

  2. PurplePeopleEater Says:

    My mom uses crushed cornflakes for the breading and it’s delicious!

  3. Melissa (Athertonmerriweather) Says:

    I make these at least twice a week using oatmeal or Special K ground in the blender. I’ve also used Cap’n Crunch…that was lush.

  4. Shelly Says:

    This is fantastico! Being on Weight Watchers limits my splurges. This feels like a splurge, but really isn’t! I love all you food entries! Thanks Penny!

  5. Blondegrlz Says:

    Melissa: This morning on the Today Show they made tuna breaded with Cap’n Crunch and it looked absofrickinlutely delicious. I’m looking forward to exploring this style of cooking.

  6. Baked Fries (To Go With Those Baked Chicken Strips) « Says:

    […] Baked Fries (To Go With Those Baked Chicken Strips) By pennyplastic I saw a recipe for baked fries over at Lottie + Doof, one of my favorite cooking blogs, and I had to share it with you guys.  Especially because they would be great with my baked chicken strips! […]

Leave a Reply

